Lap Band?!

Thread: Lap Band?!

Photos
    View albums

I've considered bariatric surgery for so long, I actually gave myself a deadline to lose weight or go under the knife. I've seen failures and successes (I'm an OR nurse.) Actually, three nurses at my job had surgery (two had RenY, one had Lapband). Slowly they've all gained some back, but not to where they were before. I wouldn't say they eat healthy, and I never hear them talk about working out. I think when it comes off so easily and quickly, we lose sight that we still have to work at it. It's such a cliche, but it's a LIFESTYLE CHANGE. Good Luck! I'm hoping the fear of going under anesthesia will make me lose weight, because I'm terrifed of having surgery.
    5/08 SW-270
    8/7/08 CW 239-Taken off Phen by MD
    9/5/08 CW 230-Life without Phen Challenge

Goals, schmoals. I just come here to talk, and if I lose weight, that's great!

Same place next year? NOT!!!

2. Advertising
    advertising

Photos
    View albums

Quote Originally Posted by LoSingWeightin08 View Post
    My mom had Lap Band in december.. so I kno first hand wut its like. She prepped for almost 2 years just to get the surgery b/c our insurance company @ the time had certain req's: 6 month diet plan supervised w/ a doctor, psych eval, meet w/ a nutritionist, ekg i think & a couple others i cant remember. In May she finally got approved but then my father decided to switch jobs! And our new insurance is c r a p so they didn't cover the surg. In the end she decided to pay for it herself.